Hike/Camp in Mojave

I haven’t been able to get out of LA (or any city for that matter) for several months so this weekend I decided to go camping/hiking in the desert.  As the roads in Death Valley are still out, I headed to Mojave.

My first task (after driving 3.5 hours) was to find and drive down the 2 mile dirt road leading to the Silver Peak parking area.   This particular dirt road was pretty tame compared to the ones I normally find myself on in Death Valley.  I didn’t even need 4wD.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After starting the hike one of the first things I came across was this rusted axle.  Maybe an old mining car?  Who knows.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The trail up is pretty easy to follow.  Eventually it turns right and heads up the ridge.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Gaining some elevation now.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Then at the top:  Silver Peak.  It is about 2Km high (~6000 ft).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The register was inside this can.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I was the first one to climb up here since May 26th.  Just about 1/2 a year.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Some other pics on the way down:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This old corral is near the base of the hike.  I guess there was some ranching that took place a long, long time ago here.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The 9.6 mile hike took me about 6 hours.  I was pretty beat when I got back but wasted no time in setting up my camp.  For the first time I broke out my tent.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I used this hated Lakers jersey to start my fire.

??????????????????????

As night fell I put on my soup.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It was fully dark by about 530pm.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

trying to keep warm

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Eventually, the coyote howls subsided and I fell asleep.  Dawn then came around 530am… the best part of camping in the desert.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I tried to do one more hike in the morning but after 2 miles I was pretty dead from the long hike up to Silver peak the day before and no breakfast…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Took this last pic of the Comanche Trail as I turned around and headed home.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This entry was posted in Hikes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hike/Camp in Mojave

  1. Dii says:

    Just be careful… glad that you are back in one piece!

Leave a Reply

