Marathon 2009


So the big day came and overall I’m happy with how things turned out.  My time was 4h26m a good 16m faster than my previous best.  More impressive is that I was finisher #3286/23469 which is the top 14%!. As you can see from below split times… my first 3 10K’s were very consistent but things slowed down considerably during the last 12k.  What happened?  Well, for one my stomach was really bothering  me.  I’m not sure if it was the ibuprofen, the coffee, the goo packs, or something else but it definitely slowed me down.   The other problem I had was my calve muscles. Towards the end of the race they really tightened up and even though I still had energy to run, I coulnd’t go more than a few hundred meters before the pain made me stop.  These two things are the main reason the last split was so much slower.  Interestingly enough, as I sprinted the last 100m to the finish line, my hamstrings gave out providing everyone watching with the spectacle (I remember hearing the announcer comment on this) of seeing me skipping side ways.  I was in a hell of a lot of pain and couldn’t stand on my own after crossing the end line.  Lucky for me the medical staff were at my side instantly and helped carry me off the field.  It sounds bad but all they had to do was help me raise my legs (thus stretching my muscle) and I was able to regain control.  This took about 3mins.
 
Aside from this, the race was peachy.  One thing it did do was reinforce my notion that Crossfit is best exercise program there is.  Once my hamstrings were fixed I was able to walk around without much trouble.  I feel sore… but nothing like previous marathons.   I felt so good I even went down to the Motorcycle dealership to order some new parts.  I’ll definitely be at Crossfit tomorrow.

My finisher shirt and medal.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Marathon 2009

  1. Samantha says:

    i like this shirt more~

Leave a Reply

